Battery comparison

Sigenergy SigenStor vs Sungrow SBR HV (SBR096-SBR256)

Last updated 2 October 2026

SpecSigenergy SigenStorSungrow SBR HV (SBR096-SBR256)
Usable capacity5.2-7.8 kWh per module (BAT 5.0 / 8.0), roughly 5-48 kWh per stack (1-6 modules, any mix)9.6-25.6 kWh (3.2 kWh modules, 3-8 per tower; a 6.4 kWh SBR064 also exists for use with the SH-RS)
ChemistryLFPLFP
Power outputSet by the Energy Controller : single-phase 5/6/8/10 kW; three-phase 5/10/15/25 kW5.76-15.36 kW pack capability; actual output set by the paired hybrid inverter
InverterIntegrated hybrid (Energy Controller), DC-coupled; optional DC or AC EV chargingNone : DC-coupled to Sungrow SH-RS (single-phase) or SH-RT (three-phase)
Warranty10 years to 70% retention or a set energy throughput (15.84 MWh per 5.2 kWh module, 23.77 MWh per 7.8 kWh module), whichever comes first. Excludes installs within 500m of the coastline.Not published
Backup capabilityNot stated, confirm with installerNot stated, confirm with installer
ExpandableYesYes
IP ratingIP66IP55

The verdict, by criterion

Capacity

Sigenergy starts from 5.2 kWh, Sungrow starts from 9.6 kWh. Sigenergy offers the smaller starting increment. See the full published range for each in the table above, neither figure alone tells you the maximum either one scales to.

Warranty

Sigenergy publishes a warranty figure, Sungrow does not.

Backup

Sigenergy: Not stated, confirm with installer. Sungrow: Not stated, confirm with installer.

Expandability and inverter

Both are modular/stackable. Sigenergy is an integrated all-in-one system; Sungrow is battery-only and needs a compatible hybrid inverter.

Who should pick which

  • If you want to start with the smallest unit and add more later, Sigenergy publishes the smaller starting capacity of the two.
  • If an explicit backup claim matters to you, check with your installer, since neither states one in our data.
  • If you'd rather not source and coordinate a separate hybrid inverter, Sigenergy comes as a complete integrated system.

Sigenergy vs Sungrow questions

Which has the longer warranty, Sigenergy or Sungrow?+

Sigenergy publishes an explicit year figure, Sungrow does not. See the table above for exact wording.

Does either Sigenergy or Sungrow support whole home backup?+

Neither manufacturer states a whole home backup claim in the data we track. Confirm backup capability for either with your installer.