Compare home batteries.
Last updated 2 October 2026
Every published model we track, side by side. Click a column heading to sort. We don't show a price or price per kWh here, there's no live installer rate card data yet, see get my battery price for a real quote once there is.
| Warranty | Backup capability | Expandable | ||
|---|---|---|---|---|
| AlphaESS SMILE-G3 | 10.1-60.5 kWh (G3-B5, 10.1 kWh modules, up to 6); three-phase T5/T10 use 9.3 kWh modules to 55.8 kWh | 5-year product warranty, 10-year battery performance warranty backed by Munich Re. | Not stated, confirm with installer | Yes |
| BYD Battery-Box Premium HVS | 5.1-12.8 kWh per stack (2.56 kWh modules, 2-5 per stack), up to 38.4 kWh with three parallel stacks | 10 years; spare parts available for at least 10 years after production ends. | Not stated, confirm with installer | Yes |
| BYD Battery-Box Premium HVM | 8.3-22.1 kWh per stack (2.76 kWh modules, 3-8 per stack), up to 66.2 kWh with three parallel stacks | 10 years. | Not stated, confirm with installer | Yes |
| BYD Battery-Box Premium LVS | 4-24 kWh per tower, low-voltage | 10 years. | Not stated, confirm with installer | Yes |
| Enphase IQ Battery 5P | 5 kWh per unit, scalable to 70 kWh; 90% DoD grid-connected, 100% in backup | 15 years, up to 6,000 cycles : the longest standard residential warranty in the AU market, per Enphase. | 100% usable in backup (90% in normal use) | Yes |
| FoxESS EQ4800 | 9.36-41.93 kWh (4.66 kWh modules, up to 9 in series) | 10 years to 70% retention, or 4.2 MWh/kWh throughput minimum, whichever comes first. | Not stated, confirm with installer | Yes |
| GoodWe Lynx Home F Plus+ | 6.6-16.4 kWh per tower (3.27 kWh modules, 2-5 per tower) | Not published | Not stated, confirm with installer | Yes |
| Sigenergy SigenStor | 5.2-7.8 kWh per module (BAT 5.0 / 8.0), roughly 5-48 kWh per stack (1-6 modules, any mix) | 10 years to 70% retention or a set energy throughput (15.84 MWh per 5.2 kWh module, 23.77 MWh per 7.8 kWh module), whichever comes first. Excludes installs within 500m of the coastline. | Not stated, confirm with installer | Yes |
| Sungrow SBR HV (SBR096-SBR256) | 9.6-25.6 kWh (3.2 kWh modules, 3-8 per tower; a 6.4 kWh SBR064 also exists for use with the SH-RS) | Not published | Not stated, confirm with installer | Yes |
| Tesla Powerwall 3 | 13.5 kWh, up to 54 kWh with 3 Expansion units | 10 years, parts and labour, 70% retention; unlimited cycling for standard home use. | Positioned by Tesla for whole home backup | Yes |
Specs from each manufacturer's own published data. Backup capability is only shown where a manufacturer states it explicitly, confirm with your installer for any model marked not stated.
Head to head
Which battery for which household
Based on published specs only, not a ranking, the right fit depends on your own home, usage and installer.
If you want to start small
Enphase IQ Battery 5P and Sigenergy SigenStor both publish small per-unit capacities (5 kWh and from 5.2 kWh), letting you start with less and add more later rather than buying one large unit upfront.
If you want maximum scale for a large home
Enphase IQ Battery 5P publishes the highest stated ceiling we track, scalable to 70 kWh, with BYD Battery-Box Premium HVM (up to 66.2 kWh with three parallel stacks) and AlphaESS SMILE-G3 (up to 60.5 kWh) also publishing large ranges.
If backup power is the priority
Tesla Powerwall 3 is explicitly positioned by Tesla for whole home backup, and Enphase IQ Battery 5P is rated for 100% depth of discharge when in backup. No other model in our data states a backup claim either way, ask your installer directly. See how backup power works.
If expandability matters most
Every model we track is stackable or modular in some form. BYD's Battery-Box Premium range explicitly supports up to three parallel stacks on top of per-stack modularity, a distinct second layer of expansion beyond what other published specs describe.
Common questions
Why isn't there a price column?+
BatteryMe doesn't have live installer rate card data yet, so there's no real installed price to show. A price per kWh column will be added once that data exists, rather than publishing an estimate now.
Does a higher usable capacity mean a better battery?+
Not necessarily. The right capacity depends on your household's actual usage, oversizing just means paying for capacity you don't use day to day. See our battery size guide for how to estimate what you actually need.