Battery comparison

Tesla Powerwall 3 vs Sigenergy SigenStor

Last updated 2 October 2026

SpecTesla Powerwall 3Sigenergy SigenStor
Usable capacity13.5 kWh, up to 54 kWh with 3 Expansion units5.2-7.8 kWh per module (BAT 5.0 / 8.0), roughly 5-48 kWh per stack (1-6 modules, any mix)
ChemistryLFPLFP
Power output11.04 kW continuous AC; 185A LRA motor-start capabilitySet by the Energy Controller : single-phase 5/6/8/10 kW; three-phase 5/10/15/25 kW
InverterIntegrated, DC-coupled, 3 MPPT (AU spec), up to 20 kW solar input, 97.5% efficiencyIntegrated hybrid (Energy Controller), DC-coupled; optional DC or AC EV charging
Warranty10 years, parts and labour, 70% retention; unlimited cycling for standard home use.10 years to 70% retention or a set energy throughput (15.84 MWh per 5.2 kWh module, 23.77 MWh per 7.8 kWh module), whichever comes first. Excludes installs within 500m of the coastline.
Backup capabilityPositioned by Tesla for whole home backupNot stated, confirm with installer
ExpandableYesYes
IP ratingIP67 (battery), IP55 (electronics/wiring compartment)IP66

The verdict, by criterion

Capacity

Tesla starts from 13.5 kWh, Sigenergy starts from 5.2 kWh. Sigenergy offers the smaller starting increment. See the full published range for each in the table above, neither figure alone tells you the maximum either one scales to.

Warranty

Both publish a warranty, with different terms attached, read the exact wording above rather than just the years.

Backup

Tesla: Positioned by Tesla for whole home backup. Sigenergy: Not stated, confirm with installer.

Expandability and inverter

Both are modular/stackable. Both come as integrated, all-in-one systems with their own built-in inverter.

Who should pick which

  • If you want to start with the smallest unit and add more later, Sigenergy publishes the smaller starting capacity of the two.
  • If an explicit backup claim matters to you, Tesla see the backup row above for exactly what's claimed.
  • If you'd rather not source and coordinate a separate hybrid inverter, check the inverter row above, as both handle this the same way.

Tesla vs Sigenergy questions

Which has the longer warranty, Tesla or Sigenergy?+

Both publish a 10 year warranty term. See the exact terms, including any cycle or throughput cap, in the table above, they're not identical beyond the headline years.

Does either Tesla or Sigenergy support whole home backup?+

Tesla: Positioned by Tesla for whole home backup.